Blog Header IMG - Glasvin

Cellar Chats

Hand-blown Glassware for Every Wine Drinker by GLASVIN

June 17, 2021

Written By Coravin

There’s nothing like drinking wine out of a well-made wine glass – David Kong, founder of GLASVIN, believes this to be true. In our conversation with Kong, he shared, “When I was living in New York, I would drink out of really great wine glasses at nice restaurants and they’d be really light and thin. But, the main problem with them was that they were very expensive.” From there, Kong made it his mission to make wine drinking more accessible without sacrificing design.

In 2019, GLASVIN was born. Learn more about this New York-based stemware company making handmade, hand-blown wine glasses which are blow to impress and priced to break. Read more about GLASVIN’s mission and values here and shop the glassware on our Coravin marketplace.

Watch the video and see the full transcript below.

Blog Header IMG - Glasvin

Hand-blown Glassware for Every Wine Drinker by GLASVIN

Lindsay Buck, Coravin: Today I'm talking to David Kong, founder of GLASVIN, whose products we carry on our marketplace at Coravin.com. GLASVIN was named one of the best products of 2020 by Food & Wine Magazine. Welcome, David.

David Kong, GLASVIN: Thank you for having me.

LB: How did you discover this gap in the market for accessible, hand-blown glassware?

DK: First of all, thanks for having me on the series. And, I just wanted to start by saying, I love Coravin. I've been using Coravin for, I think, five years – very early on from when you started and I probably use it every day. I always have it handy. Like you, our main goal is to make wine drinking accessible to a greater number of people. When I was living in New York, I would drink out of these really great wine glasses at these really nice restaurants and they’d be really light and thin. But, the main problem with them was that they were very expensive. They were probably $60 per stem, which is quite the stretch. For me, especially as I was getting into wine, I was really thinking about how we could create something that'd be similar in quality and feel to really elevate the drinking experience, but make that accessible to a much broader category of consumers.

LB: Yeah, absolutely. You have a beautiful product. Can you talk about the difference between machine-produced glassware and hand-blown? And in what ways does hand-blown glass enhance the drinking experience?

DK: That’s a great question. That's really the core value that we think our product brings to consumers. Once you use a hand-blown wine glass, it's really hard to go back to machine made glassware. You can see with a hand-blown glass, the stem is really, really thin. So, when you hold it, it's really easy to just hold with two fingers and then you're swirling it all night. It's a lot easier to swirl. It's also probably half the weight of other glasses ­– though, when you're drinking out of them, you're thinking more about the wine and the people you're around. The glass is no longer an impediment to you enjoying the wine and talking to your friends. It's almost like touching your hand because it's so light.

LB: Absolutely. It's kind of having less between you and your wine, right? 

DK: Exactly.

LB: Do you have a designer? How do you determine how the glassware will look?

DK: Yes, we have a designer – it's me. I'm not a real designer but I talk to a lot of sommeliers, a lot of people who understand wine, people who love wine, and we talk to our customers first and foremost to discuss what they need. The main principles that we have are the principles of any good design, which are things like simplicity and elegance and beauty and functionality. We bring that all in to make something that we're very happy to share with our customers.

LB: That's a good philosophy. When and why did you decide to do custom glassware?

DK: It started when we started getting some inbounds. We've had customers that really enjoyed our glassware, and they own businesses, and they were wondering whether or not we could help them improve their sales or offer something exclusive and interesting. Basically, someone from Other Half Brewing  bought one of our glasses for his wine drinking needs and he thought, “This would be a really great product to offer [our] customers.” Over a period of a couple of months, we worked with Other Half Brewery to make a custom glass and sold it for the Christmas season. I think it sold out in one day – so it was a massive success.

The handblown, custom glassware market is underserved. It's really hard for machine made glasses to be made custom because the production runs have to be so big and most of these companies only really need hundreds or thousands of glasses. That's where we are really great since we can make whatever you want, in any shape, and at various different prices and quality levels. And, we can make them in really small production runs.

LB: That's really cool. You don't hear about that very much. Do you think that's a big growth part of your business?

DK: We think that it could be a very big part of our business. Right now, I would say it's like a fairly small part of the business. But, we've had people reach out asking for Champagne glasses or Madeira glasses and so we'll work with them to make it. Then, if we think the product has commercial potential, we can mass produce it and sell it to all of our customers.

LB: That's probably a more cost-effective way. So, how are things going for you? Have the operations changed at all during the pandemic?

DK: That's a great question. The problem is we started selling our products basically at the start of the pandemic, so we don't have anything to compare pandemic life versus a pre-pandemic life because we're such a young company. But, we know that a lot of people, like yourself and myself, are not going to restaurants anymore.  So, we’re trying to bring that experience that they would have otherwise gotten at a nice restaurant back home. We think our wine glasses are a great way to do that.

LB: Absolutely. So, our company mission at Coravin is to change the way the world experiences wine. What is your favorite wine experience?

DK: It's great that that's your motto because that's kind of our motto, too. We want as many people [as possible] to experience wine better by using higher quality glasses – I think it's the easiest way to improve your wine drinking experience.

I think the thing that everyone needs to do if they're into wine is go do a bike ride through Burgundy. That's the one [of my favorite wine experiences] and that's probably my favorite vacation of all time. I was working in finance at the time and it was a long weekend and, you know, you don't get many vacations. What I did was it was just a two-day trip. I got to Changy and then biked to Dijon through Beaune. It was a two-day bike ride trip and we drank a lot of wine and it definitely was a super idyllic experience.

LB: Sounds incredible. Anything on the horizon for GLASVIN that you'd like to plug or tell our customers about?

DK: We just added a decanter to our line so now we have four different wine glasses, plus a decanter. But we are constantly taking our customers’ feedback and thinking about what new products to add so I wouldn't be surprised if we introduced another couple of interesting products in the next six months.

Blog Header IMG - Glasvin

Cellar Chats

Hand-blown Glassware for Every Wine Drinker by GLASVIN

六月 17, 2021

Written By 卡拉文

没有什么比用精心制作的玻璃酒杯喝葡萄酒更合适了—— GLASVIN的创始人David Kong坚信着。在我们与Kong的谈话中,他分享道:“当我住在纽约时,我会在不错的餐厅里用非常棒的酒杯喝酒,而它们真的很轻盈。 但是,它们真的非常昂贵。”从那时起,Kong就决定在不牺牲设计的情况下让人们更容易喝葡萄酒。

2019年,GLASVIN诞生。欢迎了解更多关于这家位于纽约的高脚杯公司的资讯,他们生产手工制作、手工吹制的酒杯,这些酒杯及其价格都令人非常赞叹。按此阅读更多有关GLASVIN的目标和重视的价值的资讯,并在 Coravin上选购他们的玻璃器皿。

请观看视频以及下面的完整对话。

Blog Header IMG - Glasvin

每位品酒者必备的GLASVIN手工吹制玻璃器皿

Lindsay Buck, Coravin:今天,我們邀請了GLASVIN的创始人 David Kong,我们Coravin.com 的市场上也有销售他們的产品。 GLASVIN被《食品与葡萄酒》杂志评为 2020 年最佳产品之一。 欢迎,David。

David Kong, GLASVIN:谢谢邀請。

LB:您是如何发现市场上有手工吹制玻璃器皿的空缺?

DK:首先,谢谢您邀请我参加这个环节。首先,我只想说,我很喜欢卡拉文。我想,我已经使用Coravin五年了 —— 从卡拉文刚开始的时候,我可能每天都在使用了。和您们一样,我们的主要目标是让更多人可以方便的喝到葡萄酒。当我住在纽约时,我会在不错的餐厅里用非常棒的酒杯喝酒,而它们真的很轻盈。但是,它们非常昂贵,大概是每杯 60 美元,是相当高的价格。对我来说,尤其是当我开始接触葡萄酒时,我在想如何才能制作出质量和感觉相近的东西以提升品酒体验,并让更多和更广泛的消费者可以享用。

LB:是的,我很认同。您有很精致的产品,您能谈谈机器生产和手工吹制的玻璃器皿的区别吗?还有,手工吹制的玻璃如何提升品酒体验呢?

DK:这是一个很好的问题。这是我们认为我们的产品为消费者带来的核心价值,一旦您使用了手工吹制的酒杯,就很难再选择用机器制造的玻璃器皿了。您可以看到,手工吹制的玻璃酒杯的茎真的非常幼细。所以,您可以很轻易的用两根手指拿着它和旋转它。它的重量大概只有其他酒杯的一半—— 当您用它们喝酒的时侯,您会更加集中在酒杯里的酒和您周围的人,玻璃酒杯不再是您享用葡萄酒和与朋友交谈的干扰,因为它很轻,几乎就像只是在触碰您的手。

LB:就像缩短了您和葡萄酒之间的距离,对吧?

DK:没错。

LB:您們有設計師嗎? 您怎麼決定玻璃杯的外型呢?

DK:有,我们有一位设计师 —— 那就是我。我不是一个真正的设计师,但我与很多侍酒师、很多了解、热爱葡萄酒的人讨论。我们首先与客户交谈,讨论他们的需求。我们的主要原则是任何优秀的设计,比如简单、优雅、美观和功能, 我们希望将这些都用于制作让我们乐意带给客户的东西。

LB:这是一个很好的理念。您何时以及为何决定为客人定制玻璃器皿?

DK:我们获得一些委托的时侯就开始了。我们的一些客户非常喜欢我们的玻璃器皿,他们拥有自己的企业,并想知道我们是否可以帮助他们提高销售额或提供一些独特而吸引的东西。基本上,Other Half Brewing的一个人买了我们的一个杯子来喝酒,然后他想,“如果为[我们的] 客户提供,这会是个非常棒的产品。”在几个月的时间里,我们与Other Half Brewery合作定制了一款玻璃杯,并在圣诞节期间出售。我记得它在一天之内售罄 —— 是一个巨大的成功。

手工吹制、定制的玻璃器皿市场服务水平较低。机器制造的玻璃难以定制,因为生产量必须很大,而且这些公司大多只需要几百或几千的玻璃。这就是我们不同的地方,因为我们可以以不同的形状、价格和质量水平制造任何您想要的东西。而且,我们可以运作小规模生产去制造它们。

LB:这太酷了,我們很少會听到類似的。 您认为这會是您增长业务的重要部分吗?

DK:我们认为这可能是我们业务中非常重要的部分。现在,我会说这只是业务的一小部分。但是,已经有人联系我们要求提供香槟杯或马德拉酒杯,而我们将与他们合作。然后,如果我们认为该产品具有商业潜力,我们可以批量生产并销售给所有的客户。

LB:这大概是一个具成本效益的方法。那么,您们的情况如何?疫情期间您们的运作有没有不同了?

DK:这是一个很好的问题。我们基本上在疫情最初时开始销售我们的产品,所以我们不能够比较疫情前和现在的分别,因为我们是一家很年轻的公司。但是,我们知道很多人,就像您和我自己,不再去餐馆了。因此我们正试图将这种体验带给他们,用我们的酒杯,让他们在家里享受以往在不错的餐厅里的体验。

LB:您说的没错。我们Coravin的公司使命是改变世界体验葡萄酒的方式。你最喜欢的葡萄酒体验是什么?

DK:很高兴这是您的座右铭,因为这也算是我们的座右铭。我们希望尽可能让更多的人使用更高质量的玻璃杯去品尝葡萄酒 —— 我认为这是更好的的品尝葡萄酒的最简单方法。

我认为每个喜欢葡萄酒的人都要骑自行车穿越勃艮第去那里看看。那是 [我最喜欢的葡萄酒体验之一],这可能是我有史以来最喜欢的假期。当时我在金融部门工作,那是一个漫长的周末,您知道,我们没有很多假期。所以那只是为期两天的旅行。我到了Changy,然后骑自行车穿过Beaune去了第戎。我们喝了很多酒,那绝对是一次超级田园诗般的体验。

LB:听起来不可思议。您有任何关于GLASVIN的事情想告诉我们的客户吗?

DK:我们刚刚在我们的生产线上添加了醒酒器,所以现在我们有四种不同的酒杯,外加一个醒酒器。但我们一直在听取客户的反馈并考虑研发新产品,因此我们很大机会会在接下来的六个月内推出几款新产品。