Croatia wine by the beach

Travel

Croatian Wine: Regions and Best Varietals

March 25, 2021

Written By Coravin

Croatia, known for its beautiful maritime cities and rugged, rocky mountain nature parks, is home to four major wine regions and hundreds of varietals. Can’t picture it? Croatia is located at the crossroads of Central and Southeast Europe on the Adriatic Sea. It borders Slovenia, Hungary, Serbia, Montenegro and Bosnia to the south, then shares a maritime border with Italy. The city of Dubrovnik, Croatia, was the main filming location for King’s Landing – a fictional city in the Game of Thrones television series that is home of the Iron Throne and Red Keep.

Wine Regions of Croatia

Now that we’ve been properly transported to this magical land, let’s talk about the wine regions. There are four major wine regions of Croatia:

  • Dalmatia

  • Istria and Kvarner 

  • Croatian Uplands

  • Slavonia and Danube

Each region produces a mix of whites and reds – we’ll get into each of those below. And, while Croatia doesn’t crack the top 20 countries in terms of wine production, it comes in around #22 with almost 170 million liters produced per year (Source: Wine Folly, 2015). For comparison, Italy produced almost 5 billion liters in 2015 (1.3 million gallons). In any event, that’s a whole lot of wine.

croatia wine infographic

Dalmatia

Croatian wine from Dalmatia is very distinct thanks to the region's unique climate and terrain. The most notable white wines according to our friends at Croatian Premium Wine are Pošip and Dubrovačka Malvazija. Pošip, which originated on the island of Korcula, is now planted throughout Dalmatia. Pošip, in its fresh, citrusy glory, pairs well with the delicious coastal cuisines of Dalmatia – think oysters, octopus, seafood risotto, salt-marinated anchovies, or green tagliatelle with shrimp. Dubrovačka Malvazija, different from the Istrian Malvazija, pairs well with similar foods thanks to its fresh taste and minerality.

The reds in Dalmatia include Babić, Plavac Mali, and Zinfandel. Babić is mostly grown in the northern part of Dalmatia while Plavac Mali and Zinfandel are both grown in southern Dalmatia and the islands. Honing in on Zinfandel, the Zinfandel of California is genetically the same plant as Primitivo in Puglia (southern Italy) and Crljenak Kastelanksi in Croatia, making Croatia its origin.

Plavac Mali is an indigenous red variety, with Zinfandel being one of its parents. It’s the most planted red grape variety in Croatia and the best known appellations include Dingač, Postup and Mili on the Pelješac peninsula, Komarna in Neretva County,  Ivan Dolac on the island of Hvar, and Murvica on the island of Brač. “These are extreme positions with steep slopes where the grapes receive triple insolation – directly from the sun, reflection from the sea, and from the stony ground,” said Siniša Lasan, a three-time Croatian National Sommelier Champion, wine judge for Decanter, and a head sommelier for Rixos Libertas Hotel in Dubrovnik.  

“Consequently, Plavac Mali grapes build up a lot of sugar which results in very rich and full-bodied wines. Typical notes of Plavac Mali include very ripe, jammy dried fruits such as sour cherry, plums, prunes, raisins, figs, and carob with a terroir-driven touch of Mediterranean herbs. It is often aged in oak barrels, which contribute aromas of vanilla, sweet spices such as cinnamon and cloves, cocoa and mocha. Aged Plavac Mali displays aromas of leather, tobacco and has a savory quality with a lingering aftertaste. It is a bold red wine with strong tannic structure and warming alcohol sensation. It is best enjoyed at 16°-18°C with red meat and venison.” 

Istria and Kvarner 

In case you’re planning a trip to Croatia, next on your road trip should be the northwest region of Istria. Istria is known for whites like Istarska Malvazija and Žlahtina, then reds like Teran and Sansigot. For food, the truffle shines bright in Istria and, just like the southern region of Dalmatia, expect a lot of seafood dishes as well as air-cured ham (pršut), sweet fritule (doughnut balls), and savory meat dishes. Spend some time in this region and you might start to feel like you’re actually in neighboring Italy. In fact, in the last few hundred years, Istria frequently switched rulers – it was part of the Austro-Hungarian empire for while before it became a part of Italy between the two World Wars, after which it was returned back to its Slavic family. Nonetheless, both the Italian and Croatian languages are intermittently spoken in town squares. 

“The most well-known white in this region, Istarska Malvazija, is a light and crisp white wine best served chilled and served with seafood,” said Mirena Bagur, co-founder of Croatian Premium Wine Imports. “For reds from Istria, one always thinks first of a Teran. It’s a relatively light red that can be fresh and spicy, particularly if grown in the coastal vineyards, or medium-bodied and bolder,  if growing inland on higher elevations.  Both Malvazija and Teran pair well with meats and pastas, particularly with truffles from this area.”

istria winery in croatia

Croatian Uplands

Next on our grand tour of Croatia are the Croatian Uplands located in the northern part of the country. This wine region boasts a dry, light and lively white called Pušipel. It has herbal notes and yellow-green hue. For food, our experts from Croatian Premium Wine suggest pairing Pušipel with fish, white meat, risotto, and pasta with light cheese-based sauces.

The most common  reds from the Croatian Uplands are Pinot Noir and Portugizec. “There are a variety of American foods that pair with Croatian Upland reds such as Cajun and Creole cuisines – dishes like jambalaya, shrimp and grits, and gumbo,” said Lauren Mowery, the Contributing Travel Editor for Wine Enthusiast magazine. “The fleshy red fruits, hints of herbs, and touch of black pepper in a red like Blauer Portugieser can stand up to the richness and savory spice flavors of these dishes, while lending a sweep of freshness on the finish.”  Mowery, @ChasingtheVine on Instagram, has explored Croatia's wine regions from top to bottom

Slavonia and Danube

The final Croatian wine region on our trip around the country is Slavonia and Danube – located in the northeast part of Croatia. Unlike the coastal regions of Istria and Dalmatia, this region is characterized by cool continental weather and undulating hills, sprawling plains, and fertile river basins.

One of the unique whites coming out of this part of the world is Graševina – a dry, straw-yellow wine with its grassy aroma and bright acidity. “This variety is more commonly found under its Austrian name, Welschriesling,” said Dr. Matthew Horkey, cofounder of Exotic Wine Travel and co-author of Cracking Croatian Wine: A Visitor-Friendly Guide.  He adds, “Graševina is a workhorse grape producing everything from sparkling, to dry, to sweet wines.”

The top reds in this region are made from Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Cabernet Franc, and Syrah. There are some beautiful reds made from Frankovka (Blaufränkisch), Zweigelt, and Pinot Noir too. The reds tend to be plush and fruity. Thanks to the true continental climate and long ripening season, the alcohol levels remain modest.

Learn more about Croatian wine

If you enjoyed this brief trip to Croatia, you’ll definitely be interested in our upcoming event with Croatian Premium Wine, “Timeless in Dubrovnik:  History and Wine.” Join us Sunday, April 18, 2021 at 3:00PM EST. 

Event details: Join Coravin founder, Greg Lambrecht, and Mirena Bagur, founder of Croatian Premium Wine Imports, for an informative session on the benefits of extending that special bottle of wine across a few occasions. Ksenija Matić, WSET3 and wine judge, will join live from Dubrovnik to taste the wines and present her hometown’s history, wine and people.

Wines include:  

  • Crvik Dubrovačka Malvazija 2019

  • Terra Madre Plavac Mali Rosé 2019

  • Saints Hills Plavac Mali 2016 from Dingač

  • Volarevic Syrtis Gold Edition, 2013 Plavac Mali

Registration: Sign up here to receive a discount code for the wines, and you will also receive a complimentary Coravin Pivot.

Croatia wine by the beach

周游列國

克羅地亞葡萄酒:產地和最佳品種

三月 25, 2021

Written By Coravin

克羅地亞以其美麗的海上城市和崎嶇的落基山自然公園聞名,擁有四大葡萄酒產區和數百種葡萄品種。 很難想像? 克羅地亞位於亞得里亞海的中歐和東南歐的十字路口。 它南部與斯洛文尼亞、匈牙利、塞爾維亞、黑山和波斯尼亞接壤,然後與意大利共享海上邊界。 克羅地亞杜布羅夫尼克市是君臨城的主要拍攝地點,這是《權力的遊戲》電視劇中虛構的城市,也是鐵王座和紅堡的所在地。

克羅地亞葡萄酒產區

現在我們一同探索這片神奇的土地,讓我們談談葡萄酒產區。 克羅地亞有四個主要的葡萄酒產區:

  • 達爾馬提亞

  • 伊斯特拉和克瓦納

  • 克羅地亞高地

  • 斯拉沃尼亞和多瑙河

每個地區都會產生白酒和紅酒的混合——我們將在下面介紹。 而且,雖然克羅地亞在葡萄酒產量方面沒有躋身前 20 個國家之列,但它以每年近 1.7 億升的產量排在第 22 位(資料來源:Wine Folly,2015 年)。 相比之下,意大利在 2015 年生產了近 50 億升(130 萬加侖)。 無論如何,這是驚人數量的美酒。

croatia wine infographic

達爾馬提亞


由於該地區獨特的氣候和地形,來自達爾馬提亞的克羅地亞葡萄酒非常獨特。根據我們在克羅地亞優質葡萄酒的朋友的說法,最著名的白葡萄酒是 Pošip 和 Dubrovačka Malvazija。 Pošip 起源於科爾丘拉島,現在在整個達爾馬提亞都有種植。 Pošip 以其清新的柑橘味與達爾馬提亞的美味沿海美食相得益彰——想想牡蠣、章魚、海鮮燴飯、鹽醃鳳尾魚或蝦仁綠意大利面。 Dubrovačka Malvazija 與 Istrian Malvazija 不同,由於其新鮮的味道和礦物質,與類似的食物搭配得很好。

達爾馬提亞的紅人包括巴比奇、普拉瓦克馬里和仙粉黛。 Babić 主要生長在達爾馬提亞北部,而 Plavac Mali 和仙粉黛都生長在達爾馬提亞南部和島嶼。在仙粉黛上磨練,加利福尼亞的仙粉黛與普利亞(意大利南部)的 Primitivo 和克羅地亞的 Crljenak Kastelanksi 在基因上是相同的植物,使克羅地亞成為其起源。

Plavac Mali 是一種本土紅色品種,仙粉黛是其親本之一。它是克羅地亞種植最多的紅葡萄品種,最著名的產區包括佩列沙茨半島的 Dingač、Postup 和 Mili、內雷特瓦縣的 Komarna、赫瓦爾島的 Ivan Dolac 和布拉奇島的 Murvica。 “這些是陡坡的極端位置,在那裡葡萄會受到三重日照——直接來自太陽、來自大海的反射和來自多石的地面,”三屆克羅地亞國家侍酒師冠軍、Decanter 葡萄酒評委 Siniša Lasan 說,以及杜布羅夫尼克 Rixos Libertas 酒店的首席侍酒師。

“因此,Plavac Mali 葡萄會產生大量的糖分,從而釀造出非常濃郁醇厚的葡萄酒。 Plavac Mali 的典型香氣包括非常成熟的果醬乾果,如酸櫻桃、李子、李子、葡萄乾、無花果和角豆,帶有地中海草本風土的風味。它通常在橡木桶中陳釀,散發出香草、肉桂和丁香、可可和摩卡等甜香料的香氣。陳年 Plavac Mali 散發出皮革、煙草的香氣,口感香甜,回味悠長。這是一款大膽的紅葡萄酒,具有強烈的單寧結構和溫暖的酒精感。最好在 16°-18°C 下搭配紅肉和鹿肉享用。”

伊斯特拉和克瓦納


如果您計劃去克羅地亞旅行,那麼接下來的公路旅行應該是伊斯特拉的西北部地區。伊斯特拉以 Istarska Malvazija 和 Žlahtina 等白人而聞名,然後是 Teran 和 Sansigot 等紅人。在食物方面,松露在伊斯特拉半島大放異彩,就像達爾馬提亞南部地區一樣,這裡有很多海鮮菜餚以及風乾火腿 (pršut)、甜餅(甜甜圈球)和鹹味肉類菜餚。在這個地區度過一段時間,您可能會開始覺得自己實際上是在鄰國意大利。事實上,在過去的幾百年裡,伊斯特拉經常更換統治者——它曾是奧匈帝國的一部分,在兩次世界大戰之間成為意大利的一部分,之後又回到了斯拉夫家族。儘管如此,意大利語和克羅地亞語都在城鎮廣場上斷斷續續地使用。

“該地區最著名的白葡萄酒 Istarska Malvazija 是一種清淡爽口的白酒,最適合冷藏和搭配海鮮食用,”克羅地亞優質葡萄酒進口公司的聯合創始人 Mirena Bagur 說。 “對於伊斯特拉的紅酒,人們總是首先想到特蘭。這是一種相對較淡的紅酒,既新鮮又辛辣,尤其是在沿海葡萄園種植時,或者如果在內陸海拔較高的地方種植,則酒體中等且酒體較重。 Malvazija 和 Teran 都適合搭配肉類和意大利面,尤其是該地區的松露。”

istria winery in croatia

克羅地亞高地


我們接下來的克羅地亞之旅是位於該國北部的克羅地亞高地。這個葡萄酒產區擁有一種干燥、輕盈、活潑的白葡萄酒,稱為 Pušipel。它具有草藥味和黃綠色調。對於食物,我們的克羅地亞優質葡萄酒專家建議將 Pušipel 與魚、白肉、燴飯和意大利面搭配清淡的奶酪醬。

克羅地亞高地最常見的紅酒是黑比諾和葡萄牙。 Wine Enthusiast 雜誌特約旅遊編輯 Lauren Mowery 說:“有各種各樣的美國食物與克羅地亞高地紅葡萄酒搭配,比如卡津和克里奧爾美食——比如什錦醬、蝦和粗粒以及秋葵湯。” “像 Blauer Portugieser 一樣的紅酒中,肉質的紅色水果、淡淡的香草和淡淡的黑胡椒經得起這些菜餚的豐富和鹹味香料的味道,同時為收尾帶來一絲新鮮感。” Mowery,Instagram 上的@ChasingtheVine,從上到下探索了克羅地亞的葡萄酒產區。

斯拉沃尼亞和多瑙河


我們在全國旅行的最後一個克羅地亞葡萄酒產區是位於克羅地亞東北部的斯拉沃尼亞和多瑙河。與伊斯特拉和達爾馬提亞的沿海地區不同,該地區的特點是涼爽的大陸性氣候和起伏的丘陵、廣闊的平原和肥沃的河流流域。

來自這個地區的獨特白酒之一是 Graševina—— 一種干、稻草黃色的葡萄酒,帶有青草的香氣和明亮的酸度。 “這種品種更常見於它的奧地利名稱 Welschriesling,”Exotic Wine Travel 的聯合創始人、《Cracking克羅地亞葡萄酒:遊客友好指南》的合著者馬修霍基博士說。他補充道:“Graševina 是一種主力葡萄,可以生產從起泡酒到干酒再到甜酒的各種葡萄。”

該地區的頂級紅酒由赤霞珠、梅洛、品麗珠和西拉釀製。還有一些由 Frankovka (Blaufränkisch)、Zweigelt 和 Pinot Noir 釀製的美麗紅酒。紅酒往往是長毛絨和果味的。由於真正的大陸性氣候和漫長的成熟季節,酒精含量保持適度。

了解有關克羅地亞葡萄酒的更多信息


如果您喜歡這次短暫的克羅地亞之旅,您一定會對我們即將舉辦的克羅地亞優質葡萄酒活動“杜布羅夫尼克的永恆:歷史與葡萄酒”感興趣。 2021 年 4 月 18 日星期日美國東部標準時間下午 3 點加入我們。

活動詳情:與 Coravin 創始人 Greg Lambrecht 和克羅地亞優質葡萄酒進口公司的創始人 Mirena Bagur 一起參加有關將這種特殊酒瓶擴展到幾次的好處的信息會議。 WSET3 和葡萄酒評委 Ksenija Matić 將參加來自杜布羅夫尼克的現場直播,品嚐葡萄酒並展示她家鄉的歷史、葡萄酒和人民。

葡萄酒包括:

Crvik Dubrovačka Malvazija 2019

Terra Madre Plavac 馬里桃紅 2019

Saints Hills Plavac Mali 2016 來自 Dingač

Volarevic Syrtis 黃金版,2013 Plavac Mali

註冊:在此處註冊以獲得葡萄酒的折扣代碼,您還將獲得一個免費的 Coravin Pivot。